The returned solider : Who is defining you?

 

goddess.jpg

 I have NEVER refer to myself as a divorcee, i mean why should I define myself according to an incident that took place in my lifetime.  To be honest, I was never one to prance around my married status anyway. I won’t start now.

Our pastor had a powerful sermon on Sunday: the core message was “Who is defining you?” it made me think of the many terms that our society uses to define us in general. Its so important for us take stock of the adjectives we use and allow others to use when referring to us. Words are powerful .. words have life. And if you allow someone to label you in a certain way you are saying you agree with their sentiment. For me refering to myself as a divorcee is  living in the past. Divorce is not my vocation, its not a career (well….not to most people anyway), its an event.

Another term I loath is “single mom”. Its fills me with so much despair. I am definitely not alone in this parenthood journey and where does that leave God? Has He not promised never to leave me nor forsake me? He has also blessed me with amazing people; my mother, my friends a support base like no other. I also feel like it blocks all prospects of attracting a “Other Whole” (not other half). Besides whether Im single or in a relationship or married how des that impact my primary role “mother’?

Ephesians 1v 4-5 reads:

According as he hath chosen us in him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and without blame before him in love:

Having predestinated us unto the adoption of children by Jesus Christ to himself, according to the good pleasure of his will

I have made a decision to see myself and define myself the way God sees me and that is as a princess. I chose to define myself the way I see myself as a I am as a mother, a SUCCESSFUL entrepreneur, a SEEKER  of truth and the DAUGHTER of the most high. A divorcee never heck I’ll even accept being called a returned solider before I accept that.

*** Returned Soldier is a local slang term for divorced women people 

Leave a Reply

